Flood: Delta, Ogun, 17 others may experience heavy rainfall in August — NEMA

The National Emergency Management Agency said about 56 communities in Delta, Ogun and 17 other states across the country may experience heavy rainfall this month.

The NEMA Lagos territorial coordinator, Ibrahim Farinloye, made this known in a statement released on Monday while giving an update about the downpour that is likely to cause flooding in August.

He said Ado-Ekiti, Akure, Idanre, Ifon, Iju Itaogbolu, Ogbese, Owo and Owena are most likely affected communities in Ondo State.

Other communities include Apapa, Badagry, Eti Osa, Ikeja, Ikorodu, Ikoyi, Lagos Island, Ojo, Surulere, Atani in Anambra State, Ifo, Ota and Sagamu in Ogun State, Lafia and Wamba in Nasarawa State, Ikom and Ogoja in Cross River State.

Farinloye also highlighted Jamaare, Misau, Azare, Itas, Kafin Madaki, Kari, Kirfi, Tafawa Balewa, Katagum in Bauchi State, Hadejia and Mige in Jigawa State, Ilesa and Osogbo in Osun State, Kosubosu in Kwara State.

The rest are Anka, Bungudu and Gusau in Zamfara state, Goronyo in Sokoto state, Numan and Shelleng in Adamawa state, Serti in Taraba state, Ito, Katsina-Ala, Vande-Ikya in Benue state, Oguta and Orlu in Imo state and Ugba community in Abia state.

Recall that the Nigerian Meteorological Agency recently predicted three days of cloudiness, rainfall and thunderstorms across the country.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.